2006 IEEE CAS Awards
Every year the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society (CAS) recognizes individuals who have paid outstanding contributions to the technical fields covered by the Society. One way we recognize our deserving members is by elevating them to IEEE Fellowship. We also select deserving individuals for each of the six CAS Awards that are handed out annually (and one Award biannually).
In addition, CAS presents six Awards annually to authors of selected best papers published in the Society’s journals in one of the two preceding years. All are selected by a dedicated committee after a call for nominations which is open to the entire membership.
The following are the recipients of the 2006 CAS Awards:
2006 M. E. Van Valkenburg Award
George S. Moschytz
For sustained fundamental contributions to analog signal processing, and for the major impact they have had on applications ranging from communications systems to bio-engineering, as well as for his outstanding leadership in engineering education and within the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society.
2006 Technical Achievement Award
“KT” Krishnaiyan Thulasiraman
For sustained and outstanding technical contributions for nearly four decades to graph theoretic foundations of circuits, systems and computing emphasizing theoretical and algorithmic aspects and bridging theory and practice in diverse areas of applications ranging from classical circuit theory to modern areas such as VLSI physical design, VLSI testing, fault tolerance in WDM optical networks, etc. For sustained leadership efforts in promoting graph theory based research through research publications, text books, monographs and CAS society technical committee/editorial/conference activities.
2006 Chapter-of-the-Year Award
IEEE CAS Shanghai Chapter
2006 Education Award
Wayne Wolf
For outstanding education and leadership in VLSI systems and embedded computing.
2006 Industrial Pioneer Award
John A Darringer
For the development of practical techniques and algorithms for automated logic synthesis, for their realization as usable tools, and for their successful application to high performance computing products.
2006 Meritorious Service Award
Martin Hasler
For devoted long-term service to the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society holding various key volunteer positions, from Transactions Editor-in-Chief and ISCAS Chair to Vice President - Technical Activities, and for the promotion of newly emerging technical subject areas in the Society.
2007 IEEE Gustav Robert Kirchhoff Award
Dr. Yannis P. Tsividis of Columbia University, USA, was selected as the 2007 recipient of the IEEE Gustav Robert Kirchhoff Award. He is being recognized for his contributions to circuits and MOS device modeling.  
2006 Guillemin-Cauer Award
Miguel B. Furtado, Jr., Paolo S. R. Diniz, Sergio L. Netto, Tapio Saramaki
For the paper entitled “On the Design of High-Complexity Cosine-Modulated Transmultiplexers Based on the Frequency-Response Masking Approach,” IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers, vol. 52, no. 11, pp. 2413-2426, November 2005. [Link to IEEE Xplore]
2006 Donald O. Pederson Award
Mark Kassab, Janusz Rajski, Jerzy Tyszer, Nilanjan Mukherjee
For the paper entitled “Embedded Deterministic Test,” IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems, vol. 23, no. 5, pp. 776-792, May 2004. [Link to IEEE Xplore]
2006 CSVT Transactions Best Paper Award
Mihaela van der Schaar-Mitrea, Beatrice Pesquet-Popescu, Deepak Srinivas Turaga
For the paper entitled, “Complexity Scalable Motion Compensated Wavelet Video Encoding,” IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology, vol. 15, no. 8, pp. 982-993, August 2005. [Link to IEEE Xplore]
2006 VLSI Transactions Best Paper Award
Bipul C. Paul, Animesh Datta, Kaushik Roy, Amit Agarwal, Hamid Mahmoodi
For the paper entitled “A Process-Tolerant Cache Architecture for Improved Yield in Nanoscale Technologies,” IEEE Transactions on Very Large Scale Integration (VLSI) Systems, vol. 13, no. 1, pp. 27-38, January 2005. [Link to Xplore]
2006 Outstanding Young Author Award
Che-Hong Chen
For the paper entitled “Condensed Recursive Structures for Computing Multidimensional DCT/IDCT With Arbitrary Length,” IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers,
vol. 52, no. 9, pp. 1819-1831, September 2005 (co-authored with B-D. Liu and J-F. Yang). [Link to IEEE Xplore]
The 2006 Darlington Award was not awarded.
Ellen Yoffa, CAS Past-President
Georges Gielen, CAS Senior Past-President & Awards Chair
2007 IEEE Fellows
The following members of the CAS Society were elected to the Fellowship of the IEEE in 2007:

Grace Clark [Profile]
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
for contributions to block adaptive filtering
Anirudh Devgan [Profile]
Magma Design Automation, USA
for contributions to electrical analysis, and simulation of integrated circuits
Kenneth Kundert [Profile]
Designer's Guide Consulting, USA
for contributions to simulation and modeling of analog radio frequency and mixed signal circuits

Sang-Uk Lee [Profile]
Seoul National University, Korea
for contributions to theory and application of image and video coding

Alexander Loui [Profile]
Eastman Kodak Company, USA
for contributions to digital image content management systems

Gaetano Palumbo [Profile]
University of Catania, Italy
for contributions to analysis and design of high performance analog and digital circuits

Ruchir Puri [Profile]
IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, USA
for contributions to automated logical and physical design of electronic circuits

David Skellern [Profile]
National Information and Communications Technology Australia LTD, Australia
for contributions to high speed devices and systems for wireless and wireline communications networks
John Smith [Profile]
IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, USA
for contributions to multimedia content analysis, retrieval and adaptation

Athanasios Stouraitis [Profile]
University of Patras, Greece
for contributions to high-performance digital signal processing architectures and computer arithmetics
Orly Yadid-Pecht [Profile]
Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
for contributions to design and modeling of common metal oxide semiconductors image sensors
Jar-Ferr Yang [Profile]
National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
for contributions to fast algorithms and efficient realization of video and audio coding